070.

Since my last update, I’ve had a some awesome rides and some not so great rides. The less than stellar rides stem more from the issue that is Summer. Nakai loathes summer as much as I do and between the bugs, heat, and humidity he feels sluggish. We had a couple days of decent weather which allowed us to have productive schooling sessions and pound out some miles. When the oppressive heat returned, Nakai turned into a cranky toddler. For the first time this year, I had to nag him to get moving (he is a horse who will normally use any excuse to move out). My workaholic was now the grumpy old man who sighed plaintively when he saw me coming to collect him from the pasture.

And oh have we been cranky. I struggled through a few rides where everything I asked initially was met with a resounding ‘No!’ Like the good soul he is, Nakai acquiesces to my requests only after voicing his opinion (over and over and over…).

In attempt to remedy this, we did a few short fun sessions of free lunging, baths, and hand walking to graze and refresh some ground work.


Wednesday evening gave similar results. I’m still struggling with ankle pain and experimenting with possible solutions, so the goal was a quick schooling ride in exercise capris and my terrains. We lasted only 2 1/2 miles because the black flies were terrible. They bombed Nakai’s face any time we slowed down from a trot. I ended the ride there (really not wanting to risk an ERU flare up from the irritation).

I’m crossing my fingers this weekend yields better results.


On the domestic front, Ben’s started building my walk in closet and we’re almost finished pulling out the awful hedges surrounding the house! Once the last three are gone I can finally start creating flower beds! Speaking of plants: Khoshekh’s hellbent on destroying mine. He tried to murder my aloe pant (breaking the pot in the process) and gorged himself on my lemongrass until he puked (and I moved them outside). The cacti haven’t phased the kitty tyrant, either. I’ve caught him itching on them.

I also received a huge promotion at work. I am so happy that sometimes it doesn’t feel real.

We had friends over for a pre-fourth of July bonfire. While I’m still waiting on Mulder kisses, he practically drowned our friend in them.



But I’m not irrationally jealous or anything.

 

 

Leave a Reply

