066. Green Lane

Maria and I managed to get one last hurrah before Carl (Maria’s F-150) goes to Ben for repairs. We must have subconsciously remembered the traffic horror that is Qtown Alive, and we opted to head out to Green Lane on Saturday.


The last time we did Green Lane was back in late October or early November. Beamer is on his way to getting fitter, but I asked Maria to dictate our speed. The radar was clear with the exception of a small rain band passing through, so we took our chances and loaded up. As soon as we unloaded the horses it started raining again.  I ended up calling Ben and asking him to run over a hoodie for me; I was cold! It’s hard to believe the prior 3 days were in the high 80’s and here I am layering!

Once the rain passed we hit the trails. Nakai was so happy to be off the property again; he and Beamer had a great warm-up on the red trail.



Upon hitting the blue trail, Nakai turned on and wanted to fly. He floated over the rocks and roots while Beamer tried his hardest to do the same. He rated nicely and for the most part patiently waited for Beamer after every technical crossing. Beamer was awesome for Maria and tried so hard to carefully pick his way over the many logs, rocks, and slick footing.

The only excitement was a chipmunk dashing through the underbrush (which was apparently cause for concern) and a very curious mutt who gave chase to use while crossing the camping area. Beamer was worried an in attempt to head off potential issues I wheeled Kai around and started back after the pup. I am thankful Nakai is dog broke and seems to take great fun in chasing things; he was all business and the poor pup seemed quite concerned the “big dog” had turned the tables on her!

My little vitcory was Nakai finally peed under saddle! Sounds ridiculous, right? In the 9 years I’ve owned him, I can’t remember him ever peeing under saddle. I used to try teaching him (my old BO had a horse who would waddle off trail if he had to go, and he knew a cue to do so) to no avail. I thought Mustang might cure him – no way he could hold it for 50 miles… but he peed during the holds after I stripped tack. He always waits until he’s tied at the trailer or has just loaded.

We did a bit over 11 miles, and Beamer was feeling it by the end. Nakai seemed disappointed we took the shortcut back instead of the last gallop hill, but overall I am very pleased with this fitness level despite having a reduced workload over the last few months. He ate well, his hydration was good, and he felt awesome. What a perfect day!

One thought on “066. Green Lane”

Leave a Reply

