063. Sorry, Mulder.

Give him something fluffy and he nests. He pulled this old comforter back into his crate.

Mulder loves his crate. It’s located in our living room, and when we are home the door is left open. He comes and goes as he pleases. Upon returning from some serious mental stimulation (such as socializing or a difficult hike) he’ll take part of his bedding in his mouth and knead with his front paws. Mulder’s also allowed on the couches and bed (provided someone gives him permission first). He is a big fan of creature comforts and will tunnel under our comforter or throw himself into the pillows.

So, when he started resisting going back to his crate last Friday morning, I assumed he was getting too used to snoozing on the furniture. I figured it was another one of his budding behaviors as he continued to adjust to our home.

When I would place him in there, the whining and barking would start. If I put him in and “left” (walked out of the house and stood there), there was silence. He didn’t display any other signs of separation anxiety, and I believe it was perhaps attention barking. We began ignoring him when he started, immediately praising and releasing him when he was quiet.

I should mention that afternoon before this resistance and barking started, Mulder dumped his water bowl. I found it upside down upon arriving home from work. It was dry and the crate pan surrounding it was too, so I refilled the bowl and didn’t think anything more. I assumed he drank it and then knocked it over during one his redecorating sessions (he enjoys burrowing into his bedding).

I let him out Sunday morning and bent down to toss a few toys in his crate. I put a hand on his bedding and noticed it was damp. I pulled it out, and damn if the entire bottom was wet. It didn’t smell like pee (so far no house accidents!), but it was damp enough to be uncomfortable. “Aw buddy, I’m sorry!” I told him, pulling his bedding out and making a beeline for the washing machine.

A cycle later and armed with fluffy bedding, I threw it back in his crate. Immediately he runs back in, circling a few times before flopping down with a sigh.  In fact, I haven’t been able to keep him out of it. The door is open right now, and instead of begging hanging with me while I eat lunch he’s curled up inside. The resistance and barking have vanished. I feel like a shit for not realizing it sooner. It was only 2 days, but ugh, would you want to sleep on a wet bed? Yeah, me neither.

“His” blanket

+1 to the smart pup for voicing his displeasure, and shame on me for not investigating further.

 

 

Leave a Reply

