061. North Side Trails

The south side of Nockamixon is all horse trails. From Elephant road to the dam and back is about 12-14 miles depending on how many loops-within-loops you do. The North side has significantly less trails with the two loops being accessed by the fishing pier entrance.

Thursday I hiked the Old Mill trail with the dogs and ended up doing 5 1/2 miles. The trails were in pretty decent condition despite the rain we had. I didn’t have enough time to do the Quarry trail, so when Maria said she wanted to trailer out again I suggested we go here. I wanted to snoop and it seemed like the perfect footing and distance for Beamer. Plus, it was a trail I haven’t done with Nakai.

You can see a significant shrinkage in his right eye from ERU

It starts off rocky and then opens up enough to ride side by side.  A great canter section runs parallel to the lake and we had a nice hand gallop uphill. Strangely enough, the top trail was by far the wettest. The quarry trail turned out to be a beautiful combination of wooded trails and grassy openings, and we checked out a dead end that overlooked a small cove of the lake while the horses grazed.

Nakai loved being somewhere new! While we only did 8.6 miles, it fell in line with Maria’s goal. Both horses settled quickly despite being a bit up and ready to work. Beamer handled the technical footing at the beginning and end of the trail really well, and I got a chance to work on Nakai’s waiting. I was glad I brought my sponge (and also glad I clipped Nakai). Beamer was super sweaty by the time we finished, so we trotted over to the fishing pier to dip the horses and sponge off.

These past couple weeks have been a bit crazy – I got sick (again), Khoshekh’s been back and forth to the vet for a suspected UTI, and Ben’s truck has been on the fritz. Hopefully I can get back into a regular riding routine soon.

Leave a Reply

