055.

To recap:

  • Nakai’s blood work results came back, and he does not have Cushings
  • He’s basically had the rest of the February off (more on this below)
  • My application for a dog at the SPCA was approved, and I brought Jaye (now called Mulder) home Wednesday.
  • I was rocked by the stomach flu over the weekend

 

Nakai’s been on vacation for the latter half of February. I school in the ring and go for the occasional short trail to keep him supple and soft, but there’s no need to pound out miles while he gains weight. I decided that we won’t be doing any endurance rides this year, so the time off is (hopefully) helping to detox his endurance brain.

The mini vacation has been nice. He’s gotten some extra lovin’ and is picking up weight. Our little trail rides have been peaceful.


We’ve had a couple super rides this week. Originally, I had plans to trailer with Maria and the rest of the barn to Green Lane for an outing. The weather forecast flip-flopped constantly, and in the end Maria decided not to chance the thunderstorms and high winds. Turns out our fears were unnecessary as the storms didn’t show up until late in the afternoon. We have tentative plans to go out this weekend – crossing my fingers the weather cooperates.

This is Mulder:I had been looking to adopt for about six months now, but Jake passing and getting Khoshekh put it on the back burner. There was another dog there that I kept coming back to and that is what originally spurned the trip. Unfortunately he was not going to be a good match, but we were able to say hello to Mulder.

He’s a stray from Conshohocken and transferred to the shelter up here. They estimate he’s 3 – 3 1/2 years old and the papers list him as an American Staffordshire Terrier. He’s pretty cute and awfully well behaved considering he’s been in the shelter for nearly 7 months. We’re taking things slow and he’s acclimating well. I’m doing a slightly modified ‘two-week shutdown’ with him, and in the next couple weeks we’ll start serious training.


 

One thought on “055.”

  1. I am so glad Nakai is doing well 🙂
    And oh my god, Mulder looks SO DAMN happy in that photo. That guy has seriously won the lottery with you!!

    As a sidenote, I just wanted to let you know I have changed my blog name, so it may not show up in your reader list anymore. The new url is www dot twoandahalfhorses dot blogspot dot com. You may have to re-enter it into your reader list to follow again.

    Like

Leave a Reply

