046. The Waiting Game

On Saturday, 9 of us loaded up the horses for the annual NYE ride at the parkway. While I have walked my dogs many times at the park, this was my first time bringing Nakai – usually the ride is during the week while I’m working. The parkway is about 5 miles long with a cindered and relatively flat path.


Nakai took the lead out of the parking lot with Rose close behind. He listened quite well the first half of the ride while warming up, and then couldn’t keep it together. Our group had varying degrees of fitness level and training, and we walked the majority with a few trot sections thrown in. When Nakai realized I was not going to let him compete with the herd and that he had to stay behind, he started jigging… and jigged… and jigged. Up until this point, I didn’t realize he could jig as slow as Skippy’s walk (which I swear is -2 mph). I couldn’t do the ‘fixing’ I normally would on this particular trail – booting in the opposite direction and working hard (circles, serpentines, leg yields, softening, etc – because of the size of our group and the various pedestrians sharing the trail. So, I decided the best course of action was to wait him out.

As soon as he started jigging and wouldn’t relax into a walk, he got pulled to the back to walk with skip. Slow circles, softening, giving him even more rein to encourage a stretch and hopefully a walk became our mantra. Towards the end he did relax enough for me to get a really nice walk, so at that point I let him cruise to the head of the group and walk out.

I’m chalking this particular experience up to a combination of things: Nakai was fresh, hasn’t been off the property this winter except for Nockamixon, and he’s a worker. He loves his job as an endurance horse and rides like this bore him. This is no excuse; however, he needs to be able to go with the flow and deal with slow rides.


Without being able to keep his brain occupied, I lost it to his competitive nature and desire to go. When we got back to the barn, we went back out for another 3.4 mile patience ride, including rating work. We did the same thing on Sunday, spending an hour out walking, stopping randomly everywhere, and reinforcing ‘wait’.  I had two great rides on him! Here’s hoping I can wrangle a couple girls to go out with me later this week to do zoomy drive-bys with their own horses while out on the trail to continue this waiting game.

Leave a Reply

