005.

It’s 8:52.

I’m on the couch.

Sick.

Normally, I’d be sifting through the work emails and beginning the day . Instead, I’ve made myself into a blanket burrito and alternate between sweating bullets and freezing. It’s a dreary morning; rain has moved back in and the house is dark. My fever adds a nice touch. The flashbacks to last April where I ruined a camping trip due to a similar illness are appropriate, it seems.

Before I started feeling crummy, I was able to run Kai through his paces last night. He only lost a small amount of weight, and his legs are tight. He showed no signs of back soreness, and he tried to run me over on the lunge line before moving out sound.  He’ll have the next two weeks off from work, and in the meanwhile friends have graciously offered their horses so I can keep riding.

For today, however, the only thing I’ll be doing is going back to sleep.

 

Leave a Reply

